NECE 3, Day 3 – driving through a bad nor’easter, seeing Maine of the winter, camping through a combination snow and rain storm!

Driving through a noreaster

The first part of the day, after getting a warm shower at Mark’s house (as I told him then, it DID make me feel like a million dollars… but then ended up making me feel like 1.3 million USD, due to inflation), I went ahead and sought out several items needed (some fleece blankets from a Walmart to line my sleeping bag in the ICEWORLD of my campsite; a replacement solenoid for my car to put in on Sunday from a VW dealer; and some food items which WEREN’T frozen solid (like much of what I brought with me after that first night); and a certain junkyard Mark spoke highly of to search for parts (no dice).  I stopped back at Mark’s house and then slowly drove north again, as the nor’easter began to hit (and indeed followed me north).  Slowly partially due to some BAD segments of road, but slowly also as I wanted to soak in the winter landscape and get photos.

A pastoral Maine homestead in the snows

A pastoral Maine homestead in the snows

The placement of homes off on their own in the wild was very delightful to me, as someone who has slowly moved towards a mindset in favor of ‘buy my own land, and homestead to my own self-sufficient home and property.’

This barn could be mine, one day - I just hope the seller tosses the snow in free

This barn could be mine, one day – I just hope the seller tosses the snow in free

I definitely got odd looks from people driving by, as I stopped and got the camera out, but I didn’t care.  Even when some fairly rambunctious teenagers stopped near me in their raised pickup truck with vertical stacks in the bed and unintelligibly talked crap with one HELL of an accent, then peeled rubber through my intended shot, I still enjoyed myself!

Did I get out of the car in a bad snow storm to get a photo of the car and I with the famous Penobscot Bridge? Maybe.

Did I get out of the car in a bad snow storm to get a photo of the car and I with the famous Penobscot Bridge? Maybe.

The famous Penobscot Bridge was gorgeous during the day, and I wish I had known they have an observatory in one of the towering pillars while there, but I was happy to get this early shot of “bridge weathering the weather,” so the shot on Sunday of the bridge on a clear day can be fully appreciated for its scale (the damned thing is HUGE).

The only non-flying wildlife I encountered on the trip, thankfully didn't hit my car

The only non-flying wildlife I encountered on the trip, thankfully didn’t hit my car

Not going to lie, my favorite part of driving back to the mountains of Acadia was seeing only a small part of the base of Cadillac Mountain, as the storm raged, as this was a great summary of how amazingly wintry my trip was (and after all, this is why I went!).

MFALCON and I in front of Cadillac Mountain as the snow dumps... ominous given our intended hiking outing on Saturday

MFALCON and I in front of Cadillac Mountain as the snow dumps… ominous given our intended hiking outing on Saturday

Camping during a combination snow, wind, and rain storm

At the end of the day, then, I was certainly tired from a lengthy drive through bad weather… so Maine decided to REALLY crank the weather dial up to “OH SHIT” levels.  Snowstorm, fine.  40+ mile per hour winds off the nearby Atlantic Ocean, sure, that makes sense.  BUT THEN IT TURNS INTO RAIN.  THAT SHIT IS BANANAS.

Penobscot Bridge, as I drove over it in whiteout conditions (forgive poor quality dashboard phone picture!)

Penobscot Bridge, as I drove over it in whiteout conditions (forgive poor quality dashboard phone picture!)

I did my best to get into the tent (I had been spending over 2 hours warming myself by the fire and alternating short walks out to try and stargaze through the snows, rather unsuccessfully), but made the (in retrospect VERY GODDAMNED POOR) choice of trying to warm myself by the fire for a good 30 minutes after the rain started (and to be clear, the rain and snow happened together for a good 90 minutes).  This means my coveralls, which had been amazingly warm and water repellent up until that point, got soaked through.

I got to sleep at least partially soaked through down to my base layer, and getting into a sleeping bag while wet is not pleasant… but it was approximately 5 degrees the next morning, so I was NOT in a good spot when I awoke!

One response to “NECE 3, Day 3 – driving through a bad nor’easter, seeing Maine of the winter, camping through a combination snow and rain storm!

  1. You got lucky going across the Narrows Bridge, they have had to close it occasionally this winter due to ice chunks falling from the top and destroying cars. It takes 1.5 hours to go around via Bangor to get back on Route 1 north.

Leave a Reply

