1100 miles driven during a workweek – seeing Wintersun perform in Baltimore; visiting NYC

Bad idea? Probably.  Did I do it anyways?  Probably.

Important point worth noting: the weekend before, I spent most of Saturday teaching myself how to replace the rotors and brake pads on the front of my car (there was approximately 2mm of pad remaining, a VERY safe amount).  Sunday was spent being sore from all the wrench work on rusty bolts, and then gardening and shed-building like crazy.  I was very, very tired prior the beginning of the week, during which I worked 28 of my usual work hours, due to the charity of my boss (and his boss) in letting me take off an unscheduled day and a half, so I could go to…

Baltimore, MD – seeing Wintersun perform live in concert

The week opened with work being fairly busy, and so I was fairly tired when I departed the office at noon on Tuesday, to drive down to my friends Andrew, Tony, and Will.  The plan was to drive to Falls Church VA where Andrew lives, and then drive up with them, so we would only have to pay to park one vehicle, but oddly enough, traffic on 95 South was not our ally.

arrival at the harbor in Baltimore had some harbory things involved

arrival at the harbor in Baltimore had some harbory things involved

After a lengthy drive through some serious rain (both water and vehicles), then, I got to the B-more and found parking, and waited for my friends to show up… and managed to capture them in the photo I took of the venue, Sound Stage:

My random photo of the venue that happened to catch my friends arriving

My random photo of the venue that happened to catch my friends arriving

The concert went from 6:30pm to 1:30am, and had 7 or 8 different bands perform; quite the good deal, rendered a whole lot more survivable because Andrew had purchased a 4-person table ticket, rather than standing space only!!  The bands were a mixture of “well, that just happened, I guess” all the way to Wintersun’s excellence; bands there included Fleshgod Apocalypse, Arsis, Starkill, Fallen Martyr, some local group, and Wintersun.  A lot of that was very screechy, not usually my thing.  But with earplugs and my friends who I hadn’t seen in close to a year, it was quite alright, a very enjoyable experience!

Some of the performers were FAIRLY metal ... not nearly as metal as us, however, with our grins and thumbs up!

Some of the performers were FAIRLY metal … not nearly as metal as us, however, with our grins and thumbs up!

We drove down to Andrew’s house in Falls Church afterwards, arrived around 3am, making for a nice “early” night of sleep.  I got to sleep in (and did so until 12:30, after seeing how bad the traffic was), and later ended up napping from 2:00 to 5:45pm.  Dinner with Andrew after he got out of work, and I was off… to discover that even at 1am on a Wednesday night, interstate 95 STILL has heavy traffic conditions at places.

Wintersun being awesome

Wintersun being awesome

All told, well-worth the drive, to see old friends and listen to some very interesting/loud music.

New York, NY – visiting with my old housemate and friend from DC, Dylan… and screening the BEST worst movies all weekend 😀

So, what to do after a week of working a bunch of hours and squeezing a trip to Baltimore and Falls Church VA in the middle… than to drive to NYC after work on Friday to visit Dylan!

checking out Dylan's skinny apartment, but really loving it

checking out Dylan’s skinny apartment, but really loving it

The weekend WAS planned to include things like “check out the Barcade, a place that serves adult beverages and has all manner of 1980s quarter-operated arcade machines” and “go see the Freedom Tower” and “stuff.”  Then, I got there, told Dylan how great it was to see him, and admitted exhaustion and a penchant for relaxing as relaxingly as possible.

Being a good guy, Dylan was down, so we instead spent the weekend gaming with his friends and watching some of the most awful awful movies ever, like:

what better way to hang out than screening the worst movies, amirite?

what better way to hang out than screening the worst movies, amirite?

We also screened Double Dragon, Expendables II, and more.  Entertaining, yes.  Maddeningly bad?  Very yes!

at the impromptu street fair outside his door, in front of THE Famous Hamburger... wearing our $5 shirts about NY we had just purchased

at the impromptu street fair outside his door, in front of THE Famous Hamburger… wearing our $5 shirts about NY we had just purchased

Got back on Sunday evening and marveled at how lucky I am to have such great friends, my fuel efficient car that made it possible to do those trips on the cheap, and a schedule which allows for such trips to happen!

Leave a Reply

