The Winchester Victory Garden – the plot(ting) and the planting

What is an agrarian paradise plan without proper agrarian practice?  For one, it is a highly alliterative sentence; secondly, it is a leading question and wouldn’t stand up in a court of law.  Thirdly, however, and perhaps most importantly, perfect practice makes perfect, and that takes time to get right.  So, combining working towards lowering my food costs (CT is a stupidly expensive place to live AND I have a weakness for eating out) alongside my hopes to be able to quickly be able to feed myself year-round in my VA-aimed future, I decided to put a garden into my yard; and given how much I am looking forward to getting out of this place, I am calling it the Winchester Victory Garden, as a down-payment on my escape 🙂

The Place

My back yard happens to get fairly good sun, and is fenced in; this will make for a well-protected gardening space, and protected vegetable delights therein.

materials in the yard, ready to work -the background is where the raised beds will be situated

materials in the yard, ready to work -the background is where the raised beds will be situated

The Partner

My friend from krav, Alisha, happens to love to cook and hates driving; I am the opposite, and I also have a Costco membership.  So the other month, we were talking about the spice plants she is putting onto her windowsill, and how she wishes she had more space; I mentioned I have the space and have been considering doing a garden in my yard, and so we decided to partner for the costs and labors (and of course, the fruits) of the harvest from the Winchester Victory Garden.

my gardening ally and personal Vanna White, Alisha

my gardening ally and personal Vanna White, Alisha

Also, the following photo is a necessity:

Agrarian Tyrant, Monarch of the Harvest

Agrarian Tyrant, Monarch of the Harvest

The Landscaping

So, on a Saturday morning, I woke up bright and early (9am, which means Alisha slept in and was lazy for a good 3 hours or so), and armed with the completed Transmogrifier/compost tumbler as well as the plans in my hands and head for the gutter garden and 4×8 boxes, and prepped the land for the Victory Garden.

finished the two raised beds

finished the two raised beds

a Wild Alisha appears

a Wild Alisha appears

laying down some leaf humus and topsoil

laying down some leaf humus and topsoil

The Planting

So, with the garden in place, it was time to plant 17 varieties of crops… of the 20 that came in the Survival Seed Vault I purchased to ensure I have non-GMO seeds and from an organization who supports self-sufficiency (and NOT wasting money on crappier quality seeds for more money from a place like the Home Depot!).

The acre's worth of 20 kinds of crops, ready to be planted

The acre’s worth of 20 kinds of crops, ready to be planted

The variety of plants being put into the soil required that we split the grow boxes in half, and even still use the gutter boxes to separate out plants that don’t play nicely together.  More on the gutterboxes in a future post.

time to plant some seeds finally

time to plant some seeds finally

The Completion

I am inclined to say it looks rather nice 🙂

the raised beds, compost tumbler, and Alisha are all in place

the raised beds, compost tumbler, and Alisha are all in place

Leave a Reply

