Bleeding Orange – my sister’s lovely graduation from Syracuse University

A trip up north

After my first week of summer schedule work (40 hours at the Law School) and Thursday night’s 2.5 hours of krav maga proficiency testing, I worked all day on Friday and then hurried home to pack the car and drive  300 miles to Syracuse New York.

packed up stuff to store at home, ready to depart the Haven

packed up stuff to store at home, ready to depart the Haven

“Why,” you might ask.  The primary part of the answer revolves around “I like doing things too much to have a healthy amount of things on my schedule at any one time.”  The secondary portion, but the most important, is that my sister Christa is finished with her undergraduate at Syracuse University and her commencement was this weekend!

my glasses decided to split into pieces while driving at night

my glasses decided to split into pieces while driving at night

The car itself performed as well as it currently can (intermittent power issues with the engine, which I didn’t have time to repair before this trip), even in some very heavy downpour for the final 90 minutes of driving.  My glasses, as per the above, didn’t perform as well… it MIGHT be time to get a new pair.

Day the First

So, after arriving late Friday night and promptly falling asleep, my folks and brother and I got up early and departed for SU’s Carrier Dome, which was split into a smaller section for individual college’s ceremonies and then the main section, for Sunday’s overall SU Commencement.

awaiting the College of Arts and Sciences ceremony

awaiting the College of Arts and Sciences ceremony

Though it was a bit difficult to find my sister at first amidst her ~1300 College of Arts and Sciences peers, we did eventually spot her.

Christa's hat was ready to point out her birthday on Sunday

Christa’s hat was ready to point out her birthday on Sunday

The OFFICIAL MOMENT was captured on film, thanks to yours truly:

its official

its official

We had several Family Moments, as well.

the family in front of the Carrier Dome

the family in front of the Carrier Dome

After the morning and afternoon of college stuff, we all needed a nap, and thus we took one.  We met back up with my sister, and headed to Toby Keith’s and Destiny USA (the third biggest mall in the United States) for a celebratory dinner, and that was some delicious dinner right there.  More country music than I cared to stomach, but the food and familial company made up for it.

Day the Second

We met back up with my sister in the morning, and though she was still sporting her customized cap…

The custom cap.

The custom cap.

… there were simply too many Syracusites to be able to spot her.

I am serious, too.  How many people?  The empty seats give you some indication…

Many empty chairs.

Many empty chairs.

But the full seats really hit home the CRAZY number of students, staff, faculty, family, friends, and celebrants in the Carrier Dome.  Yeesh.

So many graduates.

So many graduates.

This state of affairs made the town of Syracuse full, as well.  To the point that parking got dicey:

with THAT many people, parking was VERY tight. VERY.

with THAT many people, parking was VERY tight. VERY.

This made me displeased, the possibility of my car getting hit by bad drivers.  Like, Biblical levels of displeasure. Up there with Job… who was helpfully rendered in statue form on the campus for me to emulate!

Much like Job, I was distraught about my car almost getting hit

Much like Job, I was distraught about my car almost getting hit

But at the end of the day, we stopped by Christa’s sorority house for one last family photo…

Christa's sorority house

Christa’s sorority house

…and to admire the amazing cake one of the parents made…

one of Christa's housemate's has a cake mastermind of a father

one of Christa’s housemate’s has a cake mastermind of a father

… before having lunch together and departing for our various homes.

Returning to the ‘Haven

So, after a weekend of fun, family, and Otto the Orange….

Otto the Orange.

Otto the Orange.

…. it was time to return to New Haven, for another week of fun in the sun/Law School L2 floor of the library (they are analogues).

The drive home was much nicer than the drive there, not least of all because I was less tired; the weather was also gorgeous and helped really showcase the breathtaking scenic vistas along the way.  Plus, the sunset made my car looked damned good 🙂

the drive home was through gorgeous scenery, with gorgeous weather and a drop-dead gorgeous car

the drive home was through gorgeous scenery, with gorgeous weather and a drop-dead gorgeous car

One response to “Bleeding Orange – my sister’s lovely graduation from Syracuse University

  1. Pingback: “Would it help if I got out and pushed?” – repairing the MFALCON’s intermittent limp mode, Part 1 | A Jaunt Around the World - New Haven, CT

Leave a Reply

